Results of the Survey on Macau LGBTIs 2016

On 12 May 2016, Rainbow of Macau releases the results of the “2016 Macau LGBTI Survey”, conducted by the Organisation, which is also the second occasion of such survey.

The survey was conducted between 27 March 2016 and 10 April 2016. Only responses from those who usually resided in Macau and reported to be gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, intersex, queer, and questioning about their gender identity or sexual orientation were accepted as valid.

The survey has attracted more than 800 responses, among which 715 valid. In comparison to the first survey of its kind conducted by the predecessor of Rainbow of Macau, which gathered 186 valid responses, the results of this survey are more representative of the LGBTI community.

After studying the methodologies of studies on LGBTI people conducted by other institutions, Rainbow of Macau has decided to take a quantitative approach. Questionnaires were distributed online, and interested individuals responded to the questionnaire at their conveniences.

In order to provide the most delicate data, Rainbow of Macau has divided the notion of gender from the mainstream perspectives to the more detailed “biological sex” and “gender identity”; while regarding the sexual orientations of respondents, their biological sex prevails.

88 per cent of the respondents are unaware of anti-discrimination legislations in Macau, despite the fact that employees and job seekers are legally protected from discrimination on the ground of sexual orientation. The lack of knowledge of the law virtually undermines the effectiveness of the Principle of Equality in the Macau’s labour law. The government should raise public awareness about Article 5 of the Labour Relations Law to ensure that lesbian, gay and bisexual people in Macau effectively enjoy the protection.

A current heated topic is anti-domestic violence legislation. 6.6% of the respondents reported that they had experienced violence from their intimate partner. By standards of the United Nations and the European Union, the occurrence of violence between intimate partners, not necessarily cohabitating is classified as “domestic violence.” The result proves the government wrong in not including same-sex couple in the anti-domestic violence legislation. Above 90 per cent of the respondents consider protection for same-sex couples in the anti-domestic violence legislation crucial.

Considering discrimination in Macau, only approximately 8 per cent of respondents are unaware of the issue in the city. A majority of respondents considered that government bodies and education institutes’ work on de-stigmatisation were inadequate. In addition, 81 per cent of the respondents thought the government was responsible for the social inclusion of LGBTI people. It suggests that the government and education institutions should promote the public understanding of the diversity of sexual orientation and gender identities, by prioritising gender equality in school curricula and public awareness campaigns.

The final question required respondents to grade their happiness indices, on a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being very happy. Nearly 60 per cent of the respondents graded five or below. Rainbow of Macau interprets that the majority of LGBTI people in Macau tend to be unhappy.

“It is our pleasure to see more members of the LGBTI communities stand up for their rights and interests, considering the much higher response rate of this survey, compared with our last research.” Said Mr Jason Chao, spokesperson of Rainbow of Macau. “Although the government had emphasised for quite some times that they did not discriminate against sexual minorities, results from this survey showed that the communities don’t think likewise, with the fact that the government hadn’t done enough work in this respect.”

Download the files of the Results of the Survey on Macau LGBTIs 2016:

PowerPoint – Result Highlights

Tables and Charts of the Results of All Questions

For results of the 2013 Survey, please visit http://rainbow.mo/?p=126&lang=en.

20160512_150542

20160512_152102

Posted in Statement
​​Macau's first pro-LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender/Transsexual) rights NGO

2016 澳門同志調查結果

「澳門彩虹」於2016年5月 12日公佈由其主辦的「澳門第二次同志調查」的結果。

是次調查於2016年3月27至4月10日進行,範圍包括通常在澳居住的男同性戀者、女同性戀者、雙性戀者、跨性別人士、雙性人、酷兒以及對自身性傾向或性別認同有疑問的人士(LGBTI)。

是次調查收集了超過800份問卷,其中715份為有效問卷,比起上一次調查收集到的186份問卷,更能代表澳門的LGBTI群體。「澳門彩虹」經過對其他學術機構對同志調查方法學進行研究過後,決定問卷以量化方式進行。問卷在網上發佈,由回答者自行安排時間答卷。

為確保數據精細,「澳門彩虹」避開主流的性別觀念,而採用了更細緻的「生理性別」和「性別身份」;當提到性傾向的時候,以「生理性別」為決定基準。

雖然澳門法律禁止以性傾向歧視員工和求職者,近九成答卷者表示不清楚澳門有職場適用反歧視法例,因而大大削弱了《勞動關係法》當中平等原則的效能。政府應提升公眾意識,使澳門的同志群體能受《勞動關係法》第五條的有效保護。

關於近期熱話的家暴法立法,百份之6.6答卷者表示曾受到親密伴侶的暴力對待。根據聯合國及歐盟定義,只要是親密伴侶之間發生暴力,即使不是同住,都被視為「家庭暴力」。相關結果證明,政府不在家暴法的保障中包括同性伴侶,實為決策錯誤。另外,超過九成答卷者也同意有必要於相關法律中保障同性伴侶。

針對澳門的歧視問題,答卷者表示受到嚴重的歧視,只有約百份之8沒感到針對LGBTQ群體的歧視,而大部份答卷者認為政府和學校在推動反污名化的工作做得不夠。與此同時,百份之81答卷者認為政府和學校有責任推動社會包容LGBTI群體。政府和學校應把性別平等內容列入學校課程以及政府宣傳計劃的優先位置,以提升公眾對性傾向和性別身份多元性的了解。

最後一題詢問澳門同志群體的快樂指數:以10分為最高分、在1至10分的等級中,近六成答卷者的評分是5分或以下。「澳門彩虹」以此推斷澳門同志群體多數傾向於感到不快樂。

「澳門彩虹」發言人周庭希表示:「是次調查相比對上一次反應更佳,反映了更多同志願意為他們的權益站出來,這是「澳門彩虹」樂見的。雖然政府一再強調沒有歧視性小眾,然而調查結果顯示基於政府在這方面做得不夠,同志社群並不認同這看法。」

2016 澳門同志調查結果檔案下載:

重點問題結果 PowerPoint

所有問題結果圖表

「澳門彩虹」對上一次進行同類調查是在2013年,收集了186份有放問卷,其中六成答卷者是男同性戀者。調查詳情請參閱以下網址: http://rainbow.mo/?p=126&lang=zh.

 

20160512_150542

20160512_152102

Posted in 聲明
​​澳門首個以同志(同性戀、雙性戀、跨性別)權益為宗旨的團體