Petitioning the Legislature Assembly: Equal protection for same-sex couples

08 January 2015

Dear President of the Legislative Assembly,

Pursuant to law no. 5/93/M, the Rainbow of Macau (hereinafter “we”) exercise our right to petition to the Legislative Assembly (AL). In regard to the proposal of “law of prevention and correction of domestic violence” which will be deliberated in plenary on 12 January 2014, we have the following points to make:

In the initial public consultation on domestic violence legislation launched in 2011, “same-sex cohabitant” was included in the scope of protection by the Social Affairs Bureau (IAS). However, “same-sex cohabitant” was dropped based on 12 undisclosed suggestions according to IAS’s concluding report released in late 2012. The proposal to deprive same-sex couples of equal protection has led indirectly to our establishment (the first advocacy group for LGBT rights in Macau). We have petitioned the authorities for the reinstating same-sex relationship in the bill on legal and social work grounds. On numerous occasions, we have openly refuted the arguments used by the authorities in defence of the removal, in particular “inconsistency with the criminal code” and “casualty with (same-sex) marriage”. So far, we have not received from the authorities any constructive response to our challenge.

Protection of individuals being free from discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation is not a new element in Macau’s legal order as we have the Principle of Equality in the Employment Relations Law as an instance. At the level of international laws, the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights of the United Nations, after a review on the ratification of the Covenant in Macau, urged the Macau SAR to adopt a comprehensive anti-discrimination legislation inclusive of the factor of sexual orientations. Making laws with LGBT equality in mind is the prevailing trend in human rights protection.

In the domestic violence law of Portugal enacted in 2008 (at the time same-sex marriage had not been legalised in Portugal), same-sex couples were in the scope and a Principle of Equality on sexual orientation ground was stipulated. In Hong Kong and Taiwan, where same-sex marriage has not been legalised and the cultural background is more or less the same as Macau, their domestic violence laws have same-sex relationships in scope. Places sharing Macau’s legal or cultural traditions have such laws inclusive of same-sex relationships without an alternation of the definition of or an association with marriage.

Sister Juliana Devoy, Director of Good Shepherd Centre in Macau, said she hoped that same-sex couples be covered by the legislation in an interview on 30 December 2014.

In a meeting with the Domestic Violence Concern Group, the IAS pledged that the future domestic violence services would “cover same-sex relationships”, despite the scope of the law. It must be noted that domestic violence legislation not only concerns penalty for the abusers. Protective measures, recovery mechanism and mandatory confidentiality are also important components in this piece of legislation. Without measures authorised by the law, the services provided by the IAS to same-sex couples will be very limited in the cases of domestic violence.

The stigmatised nature of same-sex relationships has made such relationships vulnerable to coercion by the means of disclosing the other party’s sexual orientation. Victims of this form of abuse unique to same-sex relationships need the provision of confidentiality in the law to be effective protected.

Based on the reasons above, we request the Legislative Assembly to:

1) restore the protection of same-sex relationships in the proposed “law of prevention and correction of domestic violence”; and

2) offer us an opportunity to meet with the legislators to explain our stance on and reasons for the inclusion of same-sex relationships when the draft law reaches the standing committee stage.

Anthony Ka Long LAM
Director-general, Rainbow of Macau

Jason Teng Hei CHAO
Spokesperson, LGBT Rights Concern Group, Rainbow of Macau

image2 image1

Posted in Statement
​​Macau's first pro-LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender/Transsexual) rights NGO

向立法會請願:平等保障同性伴侶

立法會主席:

澳門彩虹(下稱「本會」)根據第5/94/M號法律的規定,向立法會行使請願權。就立法會即將在2015年01月12日大會一般性審議的《家庭暴力防治法》法案,本會有以下意見:

在社會工作局於2011年展開家庭暴力立法諮詢時,主動將「同性同居」關係建議納入法案的保障範圍,但在2012年底當局公佈諮詢總結報告中,就因收到12個意見為由將「同性同居」從保障範圍剔除。該決定間接促成了本會(本澳首個明示以促進同志權益為宗旨的團體)的成立,本會多次向相關部門提出恢復保障同性關係規定的理據,亦有效反駁當局提出「待同性婚姻合法化後再考慮」、「與刑法不協調」的論述,但至今未看到當局對本會成員所提出對當局剔除同性受保障的各種質疑的正面或有效的回應。

本澳現行法律中有保障居民免基於性傾向受到歧視的部份,尤其勞動關係法的平等原則,故平等對待同志在本澳法規並非新鮮事物。在國際法層面,聯合國經濟、社會及文化權利委員會在審議澳門履行公約的情況後,要求澳門特區採納全面的反歧視立法(當中文明包括性傾向因素)。可見在立法層面給予同性關係平等對待,是人權障保障的大勢所趨。

葡萄牙在2008年訂立的家庭暴力法時(當時同性婚姻在葡萄牙尚未合法化),除設有平等原則明文確保不因性傾向有差別對待,同性關係亦有被納入保障範圍內。以鄰近台灣、香港為例(兩地除了華人文化歷史背景與本澳非常接近之外,同性姻婚亦尚未合法化),兩地之家庭暴力法律亦明文保障同性關係。可見,與澳門同一法系的葡萄牙或與文化接近的港台地區比較,家庭暴力立法平等保障同性伴侶不必然觸及婚姻定義或與婚姻有關。

一直為本澳家暴受害人提供服務的善牧中心主任狄素珊修女,在2014年12月30日受訪時公開表示,希望同性同居關係者可納入家暴法保障。

社工局與家暴關注團體會面時曾指出,縱使未來法律未納同性關係,該局未來的家暴服務仍會包含同性關係。本會必須指出,家暴法並非單單是處罰施暴人的法律,其多種保護受害人措拖、復和機制、保密規定等是非常重要的組成部份。即使社工局承諾向同志提供防治家暴服務,若同志不適用未來家暴法所允許的措施,可預期社工局可對同志提供的協助亦非常有限。

基於同性關係普偏仍被視為「禁忌」的實況,在真實的同志伴侶關係中,有人會利用揭露對方性傾向作為脅逼伴侶的手段。此為在同性關係出現獨有的家暴,需要未來家暴法中的保密等措施,先可令受害者放心向當局求助,從而獲得有效保護。

基於上述,本會現向立法會請求:

一、《家庭暴力防治法》法案恢復將同性關係納入保障範圍;

二、 在《家庭暴力防治法》進入常設委員會審議時,給予本會成員機會與該常設委員會之議員會面,以說明家暴立法保障同性關係之立場與理據。
澳門彩虹 理事長 林嘉龍
澳門彩虹 同志權益關注組 發言人 周庭希

2015年01月08日

image2 image1

Posted in 聲明
​​澳門首個以同志(同性戀、雙性戀、跨性別)權益為宗旨的團體